Point of View

When “White” Becomes A Dirty Word

Austin Channing Brown said this so beautifully, that I am sharing just a bit of her post regarding the murder of nine while they studied God’s Word.

Screen+Shot+2015-06-04+at+5.12.23+PM Austin Channing Brown

“Every time I write about race, someone white says “just know it isn’t all of us,” believing this will bring me comfort. It is offered as balm, but fails miserably. I would much rather people say, “I see this sin in my own heart, my own life, my own church and I am working to uproot it. I don’t want to be this way, and I will do the work to submit this ugliness before Christ.” That’s what I want to hear. Creating distance from it doesn’t serve me, doesn’t bring me comfort. Because it is in all of us. White supremacy has infected all of us who know America. If I have to deal with the white supremacist notions within myself, then I don’t want to hear about how “its not all of us”. It is. It is all of us who must learn to love blackness as an equal and authentic image of God.”

If you would like to read the full post, please go here: http://austinchanning.com/blog/logical-conclusion

Leave a Reply

